The Woman Who Made Me Strong.

When I was growing up there was a family that my “parents” were friends with.This relationship happened by chance, the strong brave woman & her(my incubator) worked together.On top of that the town I grew up was small, not tumbleweeds rolling down the road small but small all the same. The strong woman & her wonderful husband had children a little younger than I & we went to school together. This woman saved me, saved me from my own self destruction.She kept me sane throughout the bad years. If it wasn’t for her & that wonderful family I wouldn’t be  sitting here today. She was my MUM, yes I  realise she never gave birth to me but she was my Mum non the less. She took me in, she wiped my tears away & she made me realise I had hope. Nobody had ever done so much for me as she did. She was a funny woman, she cared not for material items, she had her own style & she never cared what others thought. She was a stickler for things done right,she had her own ways and we stuck to them. The woman she was made me the mum I am. When I lost my first child she held me tight, she told me my day would come & I would be a mum & a great one. I held those words in my heart & a few years later her words became truth. All the while she was batling along with a chronic condition, she never let on & she just did what had to be done. She never swore unless the occassional “shit” blurted out. She was a proud woman & everywhere she went people respected her. She was wiser than her years, she never ever put herself above others & she held everyone in equal esteem. Over a decade ago she started feeling a bit under the weather, so she took herself to the doctor. To this day it’s ingrained in my heart. She had cancer, I was hopeful I mean she was strong she  could do anything.I thought she would beat it hands down. God I was wrong so so wrong. I got so angry it hurt, it burnt my soul. Why take her she is a mum with 3 sons & me. My little brother(her youngest) has never been the same.It’s like he’s lost in a fog & can’t find his way out.Her husband, the greatest dad any child could ask for is a firm believer in loving only once. He too is a broken man, his eyes say more than he ever will. He has always been a man of few words but I respect that. There is so many times since she was taken from us that I wish for even 1 hour she was here.So thanks to the strongest woman that graced this earth.You will live in my heart forever.

About A Goth In The Sun

I am an old Goth in an Emo world. Sometimes my blog can be serious sometimes just silly. It is hard to write about abuse at length & that is why they are infrequant. View all posts by A Goth In The Sun

Leave a Reply

