Caught in a time warp.

For the last few days I have been listening to music, I can’t stand television at the moment. I have come to a realisation that I am caught in a time warp of sorts. Music apparently died 2 decades ago in my mind. I implore the so called musicians of today to look beyond their next endorsement or shameless sell off to a commercial.Music is becomming so manufactured and predictable.I loathe it all. Thankfully I have creative genius of a husband who can whip me up a cd in a few hours and whats more it’s free.I stood in a well known music and electronics store yesterday trying to fathom how my music has been labelled “Punk/Emo” the shame of it all not to mention some making it to the POPULAR section.On the bright side it was nice to see Vinyl making a wee comeback.As the Smut man and I perused these albums we realised that we had owned a vast majority of these prior to their re birth…An awful sense of dread came over me..everything old is new again.So I am old by modern day music terms.I do not have an IPOD or an MP3 player thingy.I have a cd player and a huge collection of music spanning the entire spectrum of musical genres.From AC DC to Air Supply, Black Flag to Ben folds Five. We have music for every mood.Marilyn Manson for when I am feeling so angry at the world I really do want to smack someone in the head, to sad melancholy Leonard Cohen on the days when I am feeling nostalgic.Music soothes and music offers creative inspiration if their minds are feeling slow and benign.It motivates it talks to you and sometimes can touch a raw nerve.It creeps up into your subconcious and can stay for days, the same song over and over.I love it.I cannot imagine a life without it.If I lost my hearing I would die, I am blind enough at least with music I can escape my failing sight. Rock and Roll We Salute you.

About A Goth In The Sun

I am an old Goth in an Emo world. Sometimes my blog can be serious sometimes just silly. It is hard to write about abuse at length & that is why they are infrequant. View all posts by A Goth In The Sun

Leave a Reply

